Library Subject Liaisons and Faculty Representatives

About Subject Liaisons and Faculty Representatives

LMU librarians aid the Acquisitions and Collection Development Department by serving as liaisons to academic departments. Liaisons aid in developing the library's collections by assuring approval plan profiles are accurate and current, and that the collections comprehensively support LMU's academic programs. In their collection development role, librarian liaisons choose library materials by actively seeking out, evaluating, and reviewing materials. Liaisons are assigned subjects based on his/her undergraduate and graduate degrees, academic interests, and the needs of the library.

Each academic department/program at LMU assigns a faculty member to serve as Faculty Library Representative (FLR) for that department. The FLR is the primary contact person for his or her department with the library. They are often called upon review book approval plan electronic notification slips on behalf of his/her academic department/discipline or distributing them amongst their colleagues for consideration. FLRs are also responsible for communicating curriculum changes to the library and providing feedback from the faculty to the library regarding library services, policies, procedures, and collections. 

Faculty with questions regarding the purchase of library materials or other functions of the library should contact their departmental FLR or their librarian liaison (name links below will email the library liaison). For unassigned areas, or general questions about the liaison program, please contact Jamie Hazlitt.  

Subject Librarian Liaison 2015-2016 Faculty Library Representative
African American Studies Glenn Johnson-Grau Brad Stone
Art & Art History Jamie Hazlitt Saeri Dobson
Asian & Pacific Studies Rachel Wen-Paloutzian Yanjie Wang
Asian Pacific American Studies Rachel Wen-Paloutzian Ed Park
Bioethics Glenn Johnson-Grau Roberto Dell'Oro
Biology Glenn Johnson-Grau John Waggoner 
Business: Accounting Nataly Blas Michael Moore
Business: Finance/CIS Nataly Blas Joshua Spizman
Business: Management Nataly Blas Angelica Gutierrez 
Business: Marketing/Business Law Nataly Blas Velitchka Kaltcheva
Chemistry/Biochemistry Marie Kennedy Thomas Reilly
Chicana/o Studies Raymundo Andrade Karen Mary Davalos
Classics/Archaeology Desirae Zingarelli-Sweet Katerina Zacharia
Communication Studies Susan Archambault Dean Schiebel 
Dance Shilpa Rele Scott Heinzerling
Economics Walter Walker Zaki Eusufzai
Educational Leadership Jennifer Masunaga Jill Bickett
Educational Support Services Jennifer Masunaga Sheri Atwater 
Elementary & Secondary Education Jennifer Masunaga Candace Poindexter
Specialized Programs in Urban Education Jennifer Masunaga Edmundo Litton 
Engineering, Civil & Environmental Science Christina Hennessey John Dorsey
Engineering, Electrical/Computer Science Stephanie Gritz John Dioniso
Engineering, Mechanical Christina Hennessey Michael Manoogian
English Melanie Hubbard Stephen Shepherd
Film & TV: Animation Rhonda Rosen Tom Klein 
Film & TV: Film, TV, and Media Studies Rhonda Rosen
Susan Barber 
Film & TV: Production Ron Lewis  
Film & TV: Recording Arts Ron Lewis Kurt Daugherty
Film & TV: Screenwriting Rhonda Rosen  
Health and Human Sciences Glenn Johnson-Grau Hawley Almstedt
History Alexander Justice Kevin McDonald
Jewish Studies Rhonda Rosen Gil Klein
Marital/Family Therapy Alexander Justice Debra Linesch
Mathematics Jamie Hazlitt Michael Berg 
Modern Languages Alexander Justice Antonia Petro
Music John Jackson Michael Miranda
Philosophy Desirae Zingarelli-Sweet Gretchen Gusich
Physics Marie Kennedy John Bulman
Political Science Elisa Slater-Acosta Jennifer Ramos 
Psychology Jennifer Masunaga  
Sociology   Rachel Washburn
Theatre Arts Cynthia Becht Arnab Banerji
Theological Studies Desirae Zingarelli-Sweet Charlotte Radler
Urban Studies/Geography   Mona Seymour
Women's Studies   Sina Kramer